Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

I must say at first I was skeptical. I grew up with the Harry Potter series as my one true favorite series so this novel could easily have diminished the name of Harry Potter everywhere. I also hated reading play scripts, never a true drama nerd like some of my other friends. I found Shakespeare quite boring to be honest. And to top it all of when it was first released the reviews I was reading were mostly negative. So when I finally decided to pick it up at my local bookstore I was surprised to find myself engrossed in the novel, not able to put it down.

Rating: 4/6

Full review with spoilers:

To say I was surprised would actually be an understatement. This book, unlike so many others started at a fast pace right off the bat with the sorting twenty pages in. And with the next twenty pages 3 years have passed, Albus Serverus and Scorpius both in their fourth years at Hogwarts. I loved how this book featured two outcast Slytherin’s as the protagonists as we revisited Harry’s fourth year at Hogwarts too. I loved how they incorporated old potions and magical trinkets that had only been used a few times in the series (I mean Harry Potter as Voldemort? LOL). And Delphi being Voldemort’s daughter was so unexpected I loved there was finally a plot twist that I didn’t guess beforehand. I loved all the alternate universes too but my con would have to be the fact that it’s a play script, not an actual novel. I still don’t like reading anything in that format though this was easier to understand than Shakespearean. (I mean honorificabilitudinatatibus, like what the fuck Shakespeare?) Anyways I would give this book a solid 4/6 as it was good but not amazing.

What did you think? Leave a comment down below and your book recommendations!

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

About doolfandoms

Avid reader, who loves to horde books.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Play Script, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

